Dayao County Culture

With the establishment of National Unity Demonstration Area in Dayao County, all ethnic culture in Dayao County are blooming together. The strong ethnic customs here has put on a mysterious veil to this county. 

1.Ethnic Groups in Dayao

There are more than 26 ethic minorities in Dayao County. They are: Yi, Bai, Dai, Zhuang, Miao, Hui, Su, Lahu, Wa, Naxi, Yao, Tibetan, Jingpo, Bulang, Buyi, Achang, Hani, Xibo, Pumi, Mongolian, Nu, Jino, De’ang, Shui, Man, Dulong, etc.

2. Ethnic Townships in Dayao

Wanbi Dai and Lisu Ethnic Town, Dayao County, Chuxiong Prefecture (大姚县湾碧傣族傈僳族乡)

Shiyang Old Town, Dayao County, Chuxiong Prefecture (大姚石羊古镇 )

 3. Ethnic Festivals in Dayao

Each ethnic minority in Dayao has their own unique festivals to celebrate such as Woba Festival of Dai Ethnic Minority(傣族窝巴节), Torch Festival of Yi Ethnic Minoritys(彝族火把节) and Flowers Arrangement (Chahua) Festival or Rhododendron Delavayi Festival of Yi Ethnic Minority(彝族插花节).