Yongshan County Overview

Basic information

Chineses name: 永善

Location: In the northeast of Yunnan and northwest of Zhaotong

Language: Southwestern Mandarin - Yunnan Dialect

Population: 475,900

Nationalities: Han, Yi, Miao, Hui

Area: 2778 square kilometers

Zip code: 657300

Area code: 0870

Geographical Location

Yongshan County (永善县) is located in Zhaotong Prefecture, Yunnan Province, China. The county government is located in Xiluodu Town, 680 kilometers southwest of Kunming, the provincial capital, and 200 kilometers south of Zhaoyang District, Zhaotong City Government. It is located on the northwestern edge of Zhongshan Mountain in northeastern Yunnan.


Yongshan County, which belongs to Zhaotong City , is located in the northeast of Yunnan Province. There are a China's second largest, the world's third largest hydropower station, with a total installed capacity of 12.6 million kilowatts - the location of Xiluodu Hydropower Station. 


History contains the name of "Yongshan", which originated from the 1872 Yungui Governor's E’ertai elimilated Mitie, and the court ordered the name, meaning to obey the discipline forever. In fact, the history of Yongshan is very long. It was in the territory of Liangzhou Prefecture as early as Xia Dynasty, and then it belonged to the Zhou Dynasty. In the twenty-sixth year of Emperor Qin Shihuang (221 BC), it belonged to the southwestern Yelang Department.

Administrative Division

There are 13 towns and 2 ethnic towns in Yongshan county of Zhaotong. They are Luoxi town(溪洛渡镇), Guixi town(桧溪镇), Huanghua town(黄华镇), Maolin town(茂林镇), Daxing town(大兴镇), Lianfeng town(莲峰镇), Tuanjie town(团结乡), Xisha town(细沙乡), Qingsheng town(青胜乡), Wuji town(务基乡), Manan Miao ethnic town(马楠苗族彝族乡), Shuizhu town(水竹乡), Mohan town(墨翰乡), Wuzhai Yi ethnic town(伍寨彝族苗族乡), Makou town(码口乡).

Ethnic Groups

There are 26 different ethnic groups inhabit in Yongshan county, among them, Yi, Zhuang, Miao and Hui ethnic minorities are dominant. These ethnic groups are vital parts of Yongshan county.


Yongshan is a typical mountainous county, with high peaks and deep valleys, and its’ highest elevation is 3199.5 meters and the lowest is 320 meters. There are five rivers in its’ territory: Jinsha river(金沙江), Hui Xizi river(桧溪子河), Da Maotan river(大毛滩河),Jingdishui river(井底水河) and Longchong river(龙冲河). Under the influence of the special geographical conditions, Yongshan county belongs to mid-subtropical moist monsoon climate. Because of the great dispersion in elevation, the distinction on vertical is significant. The annual average temperature is 16.4℃ and the annual average precipitation is 666 mm.

Best time to visit

The weather is good to go to Yongshan for every season, and people can enjoy different sceneries in different seasons.


Yongshan county has a convenient transportation system, the county’s road system is being completed. Long-distance bus is the main way for local people who want to travel afar, there are also taxi, bus and minibus. Most citizens have a motorbike while some people prefer bike. Personal car is not advocated in the county.


Yongshan county lies in the bank Jinsha river(金沙江) and borders Sichuan province across the river. People’s eating pattern here is influenced by Sichuan cuisine. And the main feature of Yongshan dish is spicy.

Top Attractions

There are a lot of Yongshan county attractions for people to visit. People can enjoy the sceneries of Yimagou Village of Daxing Town, Danyi Village of Wuji Town, Xiluodu Town of Yongshan County, Mohan Waterfalls, The Cloud Sea of Manan Mountain, Makou Caves, Xiluodu Hydropower Plant and Xiluodu Dam and Maolin Wetland.